A ride south

June 29 and 30, 2014, I left Goose Bay and did an over-nighter to the south coast of Labrador.

Left Goose Bay Sunday afternoon is scorching heat. Was 33C in G-Bay, and easily 35 once away from the water. I had to stop a couple of time to soak my head in a brook and get my t-shirt wet to stay cool.

Leaving town I saw a young moose chowing down in a swamp.

_SCF0092.JPG

Kenamu River.

_SCF0099.JPG

Trying to stay cool

_SCF0100.JPG

Endless miles of dirt road

_SCF0104.JPG

Coming in to Port Hope Simpson

_SCF0106.JPG

Alexis River

_SCF0111.JPG

Beautiful day to be on the water

_SCF0112.JPG

When my bike was made in 1993, if someone had said it would hold $35 gas you’d have thought they were cracked in the head.

_SCF0114.JPG

Lodge Bay

_SCF0123.JPG

Coming into Red Bay.

Red%2520Bay.JPG

545kms exactly from my house to the pavement.

_SCF0138.JPG

The temp must have dropped 20C coming into Red Bay. The wind coming off the water was COLD, there was still a ton of snow in the hills, and ice bergs just off shore.

_SCF0146.JPG

Red%2520Bay%25203.JPG

The bike parked in front of the motel. I was going to camp, but it was late, and chilly, and a hot shower was just what I needed.

_SCF0159.JPG

This morning I got up and headed further south. Saw lots more icebergs, did some nice trails, took lots of nice pics. And then when I was playing with the camera at lunch I managed to accidentally erase all the photos on the camera. I did manage to restore some of them, but everything that was taken after the vid that I tried to erase was corrupted and irretrievable. The rest of the pics were taken with my phone.

Going south I ran into rain, so I turned around and headed for home. Took a detour to St Lewis, and again, getting close to the water the temps dropped by at least 20 degrees. And then it started raining sideways. But I did manage to get a pic of an iceberg.

IMG_08451.JPG

Port Hope again.

Port%2520Hope%252003.JPG

Stopped for a coffee to try and warm up after the rain had stopped.

IMG_08591.JPG

Riding into the sunset

IMG_08631.JPG

1300kms when I got home around 8:30 tonight. Lesson learned too. No matter how warm it is when I leave home, next time I’m packing long-johns and a sweater.

IMG_08571.JPG

This was the route

Leave a Reply

