My butt hurts

This post is from August, 2013………………….

1025kms on the KLR in the past two days, the majority of which was dirt, and much of which was secondary and two track.

I left Goose Bay yesterday morning and took the 500 towards Churchill Falls It’s mostly paved now, there’s only about 100kms left to do. Poked into a few side roads on the way and made it to Churchill in time for lunch.

Delorme%2520track.jpg

Panorama%25201.JPG

Then I went exploring. I stupidly forgot to put Labrador maps back on my GPS after my trip to Nfld, so I was running blind, just looking for roads, and following wherever they took me. As you may know, Churchill Falls is home to one of the largest hydro electric generating stations in the world, but it was creating not by building a damn, but a series of dikes that made the Smallwood Reservoir, which is the largest freshwater body of water in the province. It makes for some really cool dual sport riding.

Panorama%25202.JPG

Panorama%25203.JPG

I also went out to see Churchill Falls and the Bowdoin canyon. This is where the water used to go before it was diverted to the hydro-generating station.

Panorama%25206.JPG

KLR%2520adventures%2520024.JPG

Not much water going over the falls these days.

I did a bunch more poking around south west of town, finding lots of nice lakes, rivers and roads.

KLR%2520adventures%2520035.JPG

KLR%2520adventures%2520037.JPG

Then I headed up Orma Lake Road, which brings you up the eastern side of Smallwood Reservoir. 30 or 40 kms up, I was starting to get worried about finding a place to camp. It was just dirt road, with swamp and boulders everywhere.

KLR%2520adventures%2520042.JPG

Can you imagine pitching a tent here?

KLR%2520adventures%2520048.JPG

I eventually did find a nice place to camp, though, just as it was starting to rain. Pitched the tent, made some supper, poured a drink, and settled in for the night.

KLR%2520adventures%2520077.JPG

My gourmet meal

KLR%2520adventures%2520052.JPG

The morning view

KLR%2520adventures%2520075.JPG

Saturday evening I tried doing a bit a fishing, but never had any luck. Sunday morning, however, I caught a beauty.

KLR%2520adventures%2520080.JPG

KLR%2520adventures%2520081.JPG

Rose another, and tossed back a couple of small ones at this brook. Stopped a few more times thoughout the day, and caught lots of little ones I threw back, but nothing like this one. He’ll be breakfast tomorrow.

It was a beautiful spot to camp. Would gladly go back.

Panorama%252012.JPG

After breaking camp, I starting heading north again, and eventually found some more dikes. I had a great ride, but because I never had any maps with me, I never really knew how far it was until the end. Pisser is I was probably about 25kms from the end when worries about fuel and time made me turn around.

Panorama%252013.JPG

Panorama%252014.JPG

Panorama%252015.JPG

So, I started the return trip. Stopped into town to gas up and eat, and then headed back east.

When I was almost back to Goose, I turned into a side road and found this.

Panorama%252019.JPG

Panorama%252020.JPG

It was the biggest field of sand I’ve ever seen, and it wasn’t even a beach. No idea what the story is with it, but I’ll have to check in to it.

The road eventually went down to the river. This is about 30 kms upstream from where they’re currently constructing a damn, and is close to the planned site of another hydro electric site.

As much as I’m in favour of developing our natural resources, being in places like this make me understand why people are opposed to giving up such natural beauty. I still hope to paddle this river before it’s all damned up. I can’t imagine what the first explorers must have thought. I want to come back here and go camping. The photo really does nothing to show the beauty.

Panorama%252021.JPG

So, all told, 15 hours + of actual saddle time, plus a few hours for fishing, eating and photos, add up to over 1000kms in two days, and one very sore butt.

KLR%2520adventures%2520141.JPG

Leave a Reply

